Posted by: sayamika, the killer bunny | 2010 March 4

The therapeutic relationship

What’s my advice worth?

Nothing more than what you decide to do with it.

I can’t make you give up drugs. I can’t force you to take your medications. I can’t control what you eat, who you have sex with, or how you treat your family.

I can make suggestions, provide resources, make things available. I can help control a crisis.

Some patients embody that cliche about horses and water. Sometimes I just have to remind myself of that.

There are some people out there who make it hard to make a therapeutic relationship.

Leave a Reply

Categories

