Posted by: sayamika, the killer bunny | 2008 March 17

Once they’re out, what do you do with them?

Finished OB. Will need to do more, on my own. If you can’t say something nice, yadda yadda.

Now, I’m studying pediatrics at the selfsame Slightly-Larger-Community-Hospital. Much more organised. To wit: I actually know where I am, with whom, and doing what for the whole two month block, in advance. They have scheduled me my own patients, with blocks of time placed for the preceptors to teach me. I have already presented my own interesting cases at grand rounds.

How does a new resident make herself stand out from the pack?

Four-year old girl presents with pelvic pain and dysuria, with some post-micturitional dribbling.

Resident takes full family/past medical/social/present illness history. Even screens for sex abuse.

Nothing. Stumped.

Resident examines child. Has never done pre-pubescent gyne exam before. Has no clue what she’s looking at.

Fails to notice THERE’S NO VAGINAL OPENING.

Looks like complete moron . Yes, thank-you very much.

(For any medical students, little girls have everything big girls have, only smaller. This little girl had labial agglutination, which is when the labia kind of stick together and grow that way. Premarin cream BID works magically. Who knew?)

Leave a Reply

Categories

