Posted by: sayamika, the killer bunny | 2007 August 3

Change is good

Starting a new residency is nothing if not an upheaval.

I have been undergoing a process of adjusting my expectations, adjusting my goals to give myself a chance to enjoy life while doing something that was not my first choice… but that can still give me the skills to work in the third world, which has, through all of this been the final goal.

I have moved from a familiar city to an unfamiliar countryside. From a familiar nation-within-a-nation to its political opposite. I have moved from being a student, to really being the healer, if still with training wheels.

Through all this, I have been a little disconnected from the outside world, which has rudely gone on without my input. The nerve!

The next few posts are likely to be about finding my feet in my new role, my new expectations as a rural medicine resident in one of the most stunningly beautiful areas of the country. I may even include some photos…

Leave a Reply

Categories

