Posted by: sayamika, the killer bunny | 2006 November 20

Lilongwe, Malawi

So, I’m here. At the Korea Garden Lodge and heading to Mulanje in the am.

Fewer trees. Stiflingly hot. I feel very out of place but I suppose that’s because I am. I don’t feel as safe as I used to, which is a real shame. But maybe it’s me.

Some changes for the better, though. Less outright begging. Less garbage heaped in the streets. The informal market is now a more formal one, though too small.

Lilongwe is haunted for me though, with the people I spent my time with. I can’t close my eyes but I see them. I miss you, Marta and Jo and Jovie and everyone. It’s hard to be in a place that was HOME, and know nobody.

Miss you, Jim, my lovely. Wish you could be here.

Responses

  1. Hey you!

    Miss you too. Glad to know that you have arrived in Lilongwe and now Blantyre, safely. Must feel strange though. Enjoy the hospital placement……

    Jim


Leave a Reply

Categories

