Posted by: sayamika, the killer bunny | 2010 August 5

You need to quit smoking

There are lots of great resources out there, like here, and this stuff, and this, and this stuff, too.

Or you could just go cold turkey. It’s rough for a few days. And then it’s done. OK, the psychological bit sticks around, I know.

I know all the excuses: not now, things are too crazy at work. I’m trying to lose weight, and I can’t do both at the same time. I can’t because I’m too worried about whatever. I’ll do it in the fall, this time of year is too hard. Blah blah blah.

I never understand why people make these excuses to me. Their smoking is no harm to me. It’s themselves they need to worry about. But there’s a lot of it’ll never happen to me. A lot of the damage is done. A lot of but I don’t smoke that much, anyhow.

It’s not like I can exaggerate the effects. Heart disease. Delayed wound healing. Erectile dysfunction. Hypertension. Peripheral vascular disease. Lung cancer.

But then, I suppose I do have a vested interest.

To call you in to my office, to ask you to bring a relative. You know what’s coming. There’s nothing harder in my job than to be the one breaking the bad news.

If I could do it one fewer time, that would make me happy.

Disclaimer: Written when I was feeling maudlin and depressed about having had to have that discussion too many times in the past months. It’s not all about smoking, or blame. *sigh* It’s just… some things just suck, OK?


Responses

  1. You’re right that people need to quit. But to say that after a few days, the addiction is over simply isn’t true. I quit several times before finally making it for good. Each time the craving would get worse over a couple of weeks. When I finally quit for good, I didn’t lose the constant craving for over a year.

  2. The physical addiction is more what I meant, but you’re right, I wasn’t clear.

    The psychological bit, you’re right, that’s the hard bit. It becomes a part of who you are, a part of a routine. Routines are difficult to change. We’re all creatures of habit.

    The cravings, some people get them for years.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

